Writing your career story

 

How do you create a cohesive CV, resume or profile when your career history is long and disjointed? Increasingly, the days of the neat and tidy CV with just a handful of companies, all in the same sector, is a thing of the past. So how can we create a tidy and consistent profile for our Linked In page or CV, when it looks like a random selection of jobs? The answer is to change it from a list to a story. Looking at each role in turn write down:-

A key challenge you faced and how you overcame it. Which skills did you use?
What type of people do you like working with ( and what are the characteristics of those you would rather avoid?)
What type of environment suits you best?
What common themes can you identify? ( helping people, problem solving etc)

Now write the story of your career so far including your strengths and themes and how these have been applied across the range of jobs. Which elements would you like to include in your future plans and which are you determined to avoid?

My career history seemed quite disjointed as I had a marketing career before children and a teaching career afterwards. However there were common themes such as an interest in people and why they do what they do; I enjoy helping people; I am good at identifying and improving inefficient processes (because I have a very low boredom threshold); I enjoy problem solving and can see unconventional solutions. I am good at ideas and not so good at implementation. I strongly dislike routine and repetitive tasks and working with narrow-minded ‘jobs worth’ people. These themes were consistent across my very mixed CV.

This process has helped me focus on what is important to me and what I am good at and has formed a key part of my plans to develop an online training business. Understanding your career story is a helpful way to understand your achievements and talents, so that you can use them to build a successful and fulfilling future.

Leave a Reply

