Project “what next?”

IMG_0066

Most of us will meet a crossroads in our lives when we have to take a new direction, probably more than once. There are a few key times when this may happen and I am currently at the ‘children leaving home’ crossroads, struggling to find and commit to a new plan. I have been going round in circles for many months flitting from one idea to the next, but not moving forward with any of them.

Part of the problem is just not knowing what will work and what won’t. Which ideas are realistic and which are just vague dreams? There is no established route in this which will lead me through from concept to successful outcome, rather I am having to create my own path with little guidance.

I have been trying to understand why I remain stuck in a loop and I think one of the problems is not treating it seriously enough as a project. If I ever have 5 minutes to spare I might grab the iPad and start randomly looking at ideas, but on reflection that is just not enough for such an important decision.

So, for the next 4 weeks I am going to build in specific times for research and create more structure. I will dedicate at least an hour at a time (ideally 2) and I will allocate this time in my diary. I will choose the right environment for these meetings with myself- a library or coffee shop ( but not at home). I have decided to structure the project by asking myself 5 big questions:-
1. Who am I?

I should already know this at my age (49), but really it is not something I have given much thought to in the last few years whilst I have been absorbed by family life. What are my strengths/weaknesses, likes/dislikes, key roles? What am I good at?

2. What are my likes and dislikes?

What makes my heart sing ? How do I want to spend my time, with whom, where? What do I want to eliminate /reduce in my life?

3. What are my goals?

What do I want to achieve in the next 1 year/ 5 years? What would success look like for me?

4. In terms of career/business does what I am doing now have the potential to reach my goals?

How would what I am doing need to change to meet my goals? Do I need to refine my existing career/business or start with a blank sheet? What are the opportunities for me which would match my skills, personality and for which there is a demand?

5. What new skills/training do I need to meet my career/business goals?

Verify the necessity and value of further training and find courses. Which new communities could I join to help me move into this new world?

I am starting work on question one right now! Good luck with your own search for success and happiness.

2 thoughts on “Project “what next?”

Leave a Reply

